Sub Class 491 Tasmania – Eligibility and Process

The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491) is a provisional visa for skilled workers which allows you to live and work in Tasmania for up to five years. Once you have lived and worked in Tasmania for at least 3 years, provided that you have earned a minimum taxable income set by the Department of Home Affairs (currently set at AUD 53,900), you shall be eligible to apply for permanent residency in Australia through the Sub Class 191 (Skilled Regional) Visa.


Through this article, we will discuss the eligibility, pathways and on how to apply for this visa, which shall ultimately lead to Permanent Residency in Australia, provided that you have adhered to all the conditions of the Sub Class 491 visa in Tasmania.




To be eligible for state nomination, you should be able to meet the requirements put forth by the Department of Home Affairs. The requirements are as follows;

• Not yet turned 45 years of age

• Nominated an occupation on the relevant list of eligible skilled occupations

• Valid and positive skills assessment for your nominated occupation by the authorised assessing body in Australia

• At least “competent” English language proficiency

• At least 65 points on the Department of Home Affairs points test




Tasmanian Government has introduced several categories from which you can apply for the Sub Class 491 visas. However, meeting the nomination requirements does not guarantee that you will be offered State Nomination from the Tasmanian Government. Your nomination shall be dependent on many factors, including the quota of nominations given to the State of Tasmania by the Department of Home Affairs.

Applicants who have skills in areas of particular need within the Tasmanian economy will be held in high regard, particularly if living in an area outside of Greater Hobart. These include:

• Health

• Trades and construction

• Engineering

• Community services (including aged and disability care)


Categories introduced by the Tasmanian Government for the SC 491 visa, can be listed down as follows;

• Category 1 – Tasmanian Graduate

• Category 2 – Working in Tasmania

• Category 3A – Overseas Applicant (Currently High Demand Occupations only)

• Category 3B – Overseas Applicant (Job Offer)

• Category 4 – Family in Tasmania

• Category 5 – Small Business Owner


Follow our website for more information regarding eligibility and the requirements of these categories.




Once you have decided from which category you are going to apply for the Sub Class 491 Visa, you should firstly lodge an Expression of Interest with the Department of Home Affairs. Once you have successfully submitted your EOI with the department of Home Affairs, you can lodge your EOI with the Tasmanian Government.


Once your EOI has been accepted by the Department of Home Affairs and the Tasmanian Government, you will receive an invitation to apply for the Visa. Once you receive the invitation, you must apply for the visa within 60 days of the invitation date. You should be able to provide proof of claim in your EOI, and your inability to do so will result in the refusal of your visa application.


Minimum documentation requirements for all nomination categories;

• Skill Select EOI – You should select Tasmania as your preferred location if you choose “ANY”, you may not meet the criteria to be considered for state nomination in Tasmania.

• Positive and Valid Skills Assessment

• Declaration of nomination obligations

• English language certificate

• Commitment to Tasmania statement

• Personal and Visa information

• Up-to-date Curriculum Vitae (CV)

• Employment (If applicable)

• Proof of residence that you are living in Tasmania

• Family composition


Further to the minimum documentation requirements mentioned above, you will also need to provide additional documentation with respect to the category you are applying through. For more information regarding this additional documentation please follow;




Once, you have all the supporting documents with respect to your application, you can apply for the State Nomination from the Tasmanian Government. The assessment of your application for the Nomination will be based your documentation you have provided at the time of your application. For all Tasmanian visa state nomination applications, now incur a FEE FOR SERVICE of AUD 220, regardless of the outcome of the decision.


Further, applicants should know that multiple nominations are not permitted. If an applicant is granted a 491 skilled regional visa, that applicant will not be able to reapply for a Sub Class 190 in the future, because, the 491 visa provides a pathway to Permanent Residency through the SC 191.




If you are successful in your state nomination application, you will be notified by email with an offer of state nomination. Once, you receive the offer, you should apply for the VISA within 60 days from the date of approval.




Once, you have received a positive outcome on your visa application from the Department of Home Affairs, you must maintain the below-mentioned obligations;

• Inform the Tasmanian government of the visa grant through email [email protected]

• Live and work in Tasmania for at least two years from the date of grant of your visa

• Complete surveys from the Tasmanian Government

• Inform the changes to your contact details for 24 months from the visa grant.


This article covers a comprehensive background on the SC 491 through the Government of Tasmania. If you want to apply for SC 491 from Tasmania, our experienced Lawyers will be happy to assist you through your journey towards Permanent Residency in Australia. Contact MJ Legal on 0477285789 or visit for more information on the Sub Class 491 visa.

Spread the love

Leave A Comment